Skip to main content

i4scada Knowledge Base

i4scada Alarm States


Check out this article and learn about the i4scada possible alarm states and the available timestamp combinations.

The four possible alarm states in an i4scada system (Active, Acknowledged, Inactive and Acknowledged, and Gone) are defined by logical combinations of alarm time stamps (Date ON, Date ACKNOWLEDGED, and Date OFF). The following table describes the time stamp combinations and the resulting alarm states:

Alarm States

Date ON


Date OFF




Acknowledged and Gone

Summarising the information provided by the table above, we can conclude the following:

  • an alarm is in the Acknowledged and Gone state when an occurrence exists and it has been acknowledged and closed

  • an alarm is in the Inactive state when an occurrence exists and it has been closed but not acknowledged

  • an alarm is in the Acknowledged state when an occurrence exists and it has been acknowledged but not closed

  • an alarm is in the Active state when an occurrence exists but it has not been acknowledged and closed

The alarm states are set based on a specific order which, as represented in the table above, is always top to bottom. Explicitly, the system first checks if an alarm occurrence has all three time stamps and goes down from there until at least the Date ON time stamp is found. Thus, an alarm occurrence states are checked in the following order:

  1. Acknowledged and Gone

  2. Inactive

  3. Acknowleged

  4. Active